Jarvis @ JM.me

Network Layers

May 28 · 10min

Light brief on network models

There are several models for computer networks, each with its own layers and protocols. Here are some of the most common ones:

  1. OSI Model: The Open System Interconnect (OSI) model is a seven-layer network framework established by the International Standard Organization (ISO). The layers include Application, Presentation, Session, Transport, Network, Data Link, and Physical12.
  2. Internet Protocol Suite: Also known as the TCP/IP model, this is a four-layer network architecture used by the internet. The layers include Application, Transport, Internet, and Network Interface12.
  3. Ethernet: This is a wired network protocol1.
  4. Wi-Fi: This is a wireless network protocol1.
  5. SSL/TLS: These are encryption protocols1.
  6. Client/Server Model: In this model, multiple clients connect to a single server3.
  7. Peer-to-Peer Model: In this model, all computers (peers) share equivalent responsibilities and capabilities3.
> Comment on twitter (X)
CC BY-NC-SA 4.0  2009-PRESENT © Nuxsco (AMS) This website rewrite several times from those years up to present